We live in a material world


Aparigraha or non-possesiveness: ‘We live in a material world but don’t be a material girl (or boy).
Greed is not the aim, take what you have earned and leave the rest on the table…
Sharing is caring… really…

Even though you’re bad for me


Brahmacharya or non-lust: “Lust, a sudden, powerful, almost overwhelming desire of something you know is bad for you…”
Often mistaken for love…
So this doesn’t mean celibacy (yes!) but, it does mean using that sexually charged energy to connect to our spiritual selves and forming meaningful relationships ❤💙

Thou shalt not steal


Asteya or non-stealing: this applies to physical things, but also to stealing people’s ideas and sharing confidential things you have been trusted with.
If something is not freely given to you. Then do not take it.

Speak your truth


Satya or truthfulness: unfortunately this doesn’t give licence to say what you think ALL the time.
It’s about finding the right balance between “Honesty is the best policy” and if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”
This one gets a bit tricky for me and I have to work on it EVERY day.

Throw kindness like confetti


Ahimsa or non-violence: this one feels like an easy one for most of us.
Essentially though, throw kindness around like confetti but here’s the hard bit…
Even to those who don’t deserve it…

Yoga is more than asana


Yoga is so much more than doing pose after pose…
Yoga has a spiritual side, which most of us never start yoga for and then find it becomes a significant part of the journey…
Over the next week I will introduce the eight limbs of yoga, focusing on the Yamas, our code of conduct and self-discipline. It can be simply summarised as “Treat others how you want to be treated.” Come learn a bit more about the spiritual side of yoga…